Commonwealth Short Story Prize Open For Entries

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is now open for entries.


We are delighted to announce that the Commonwealth Short Story Prize, the flagship project of Commonwealth Writers, is open for entries from 1 September 2017 to 1 November 2017.

Entry is free.

The Prize is for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000 – 5,000 words) in English; regional winners receive £2,500 and the overall winner receives £5,000. Stories translated into English are eligible, and this year we invite entries in the original languages of Bengali, Chinese, Kiswahili, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan and Tamil.

The five winning stories from the 2018 competition will be published online by Granta Magazine.

Visit our website for the entry and eligibility guidelines and online entry form:

Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *