Enter the Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2019

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is open for submissions. The prize accepts submissions of between 2000 – 5000 words which have never been published before. The submissions must be in English even though they can be translations of stories written originally in Kiswahili, Bengali, Chinese, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan and Tamil.


There are two categories of prizes:

  • Overall winner receives £5,000.
  • Regional winners receive £2,500.

There are five regions, namely Africa; Asia; Canada and Europe; Caribbean; and Pacific.

Eligibility and entry rules

  • Entrants must be citizens of a commonwealth country.
  • It is not a must that you be residing in the commonwealth country where you are a citizen at the time of submission.
  • You must have attained 18 years.
  • Previous overall winners are not allowed to submit.
  • Any entry, including translations, should be done by the original author.
  • You are only allowed one entry per author.
  • The work you submit must not have been published anywhere including on a blog.
  • Only fresh stories are allowed, you cannot submit what you’ve submitted before.
  • If you have a story in this language, you may submit it as is: Kiswahili, Bengali, Chinese, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan and Tamil.
  • Only PDF documents are allowed for submission.
  • Entry is free.

The submission window for the 2019 Prize will close 1 November 2018.

For more information concerning how to submit the short story, please visit the Commonwealth Writers Website.

Read: Apply for the Iceland Writers Retreat 2019